Sport News

SuperSport United: 2019-20 PSL Fixtures, results, trophies, squad and latest news

SuperSport United head into the 2019-20 campaign not quite sure where they stand in the Absa Premiership.

Is this a team which can compare with the triple title-winning side under Gavin Hunt? Or is it a former South African footballing power which is now on the wane? This season should reveal plenty.

Many players in their squad have already proven themselves at the highest level. Dean Furman, Thamsanqa Gabuza and Ronwen Williams are but a few.

While Furman and Williams were starring at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, Gabuza was one of two players to move from Orlando Pirates — Kudakwashe Mahachi being the other.

Matsatsantsa have not made any real big-name signings apart from the former Buccaneers duo. Rather concerning for a team which at certain points last season looked like they needed fresh legs. Still, don’t count out a team coached by former SuperSport United defender Kaitano Tembo.

SuperSport United nicknames

Matsatsantsa a Pitori.

SuperSport United history

Originally known as Pretoria City, SuperSport United as we know it today was born in 1994 following M-Net’s purchase of City. The National Soccer League allowed the club to be renamed.

SuperSport United’s golden era came between 2007 and 2010 under the guidance of Gavin Hunt, who delivered three successive league titles. This was after Pitso Mosimane had laid the foundations during his spell as head coach between 2001 and 2007.

It is generally seen as no coincidence that both Mosimane and Hunt honed their talents at SuperSport United and have gone on to be among the Absa Premiership’s most successful coaches.

Matsatsantsa have become an attractive club to the top coaches in the country. Current Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter guided them to Nedbank Cup glory in 2017. His successor, Eric Tinkler, openly revealed that he had chosen to join SuperSport United from Cape Town City because it was a club which top quality coaches could establish themselves at.

Tinkler led Matsatsantsa to the MTN8 title but they struggled in the league during 2017-18. Tembo was promoted to the hotseat from assistant coach towards the end of the season and steadied the ship.

SuperSport United: Latest news and live scores

0528b3e5 supersportunited latest news - SuperSport United: 2019-20 PSL Fixtures, results, trophies, squad and latest news

SuperSport United: Live scores

To follow…

SuperSport United 2019-20 squad

Forwards: Bradley Grobler, Dylan Tony Stoffels, Rusike Evans, Thabo Mnyamane, Gamphani Lungu

Midfilders: Dean Furman, Reneilwe Letsholonyane, Zama Ashley Rambuwane, Teboho Mokoena, Jamie Craig Webber, Mxolisi Macuphu, Luke Le Roux

Defenders: Bongani Khumalo, Onismor Bhasera, Kissi Boateng, Siyabonga Nhlapo, Riyaaz Ismail, Aubrey Maphosa Modiba, Clayton Daniels, Grant Kekana, Billy Mutale

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams, Washington Arubi, Boalefa Pule

SuperSport United: PSL season 2019-20 fixtures and results

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *