Sport News

Proteas Women name 15-strong squad for New Zealand ODI series

The Proteas women’s cricket team have named a 15-strong squad for their three-match One-Day International series in New Zealand.

Captain Dane van Niekerk is set to play her first international match in almost a year with injury keeping her on the sidelines since February 2019.

Proteas vice-captain Chloe Tryon will also make her return to international cricket after missing the Proteas’ last encounter against India due to injury. Both played a full part in the most recent edition of the Women’s Big Bash League. Tryon impressed with her brutal finishing ability in the tournament down under.

5bda8294 chloe tryon - Proteas Women name 15-strong squad for New Zealand ODI series
Chloe Tryon of the Hurricanes bats during the Women’s Big Bash League match between the Hobart Hurricanes and the Melbourne Stars at CitiPower Centre on October 19, 2019 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Darrian Traynor/Getty Images)

The squad includes one player uncapped in One-Day International cricket, Nonkululeko Mlaba, though the left-arm spinner does have three T20I appearances to her name.

The Proteas’ series against New Zealand’s begins on 25 January 2020 at Auckland and finishes on 30 January at Hamilton.

“Proteas Women selectors have named a solid squad of 15 for the three-match One Day International series in New Zealand, starting 25 January,” a Cricket South Africa release reads.

“Team captain, Dané van Niekerk makes a welcome return as captain after a lengthy period out on the sidelines with injury, as well as big hitting all-rounder Chloe Tryon who missed the last series in India and will return to her role deputising for Van Niekerk.

“The team heads down under with a much stronger unit as compared to the tour of India as the likes of seamers Marizanne Kapp and Ayabonga Khaka are fully fit and will add the much needed experience to a side that includes youngsters like Nondumiso Shangase and Nadine de Klerk.

“The Hilton Moreeng lead outfit will play their first and second ODI match at Eden Park outer Oval in Auckland, with the last ODI taking place at Seddon Park in Hamilton.”

bd5c9fd3 dane van niekerk - Proteas Women name 15-strong squad for New Zealand ODI series
Dane van Niekerk of Surrey bats during the Kia Super League match between Surrey Stars and Lancashire Thunder at The Kia Oval on July 31, 2018 in London, England. (Photo by Jordan Mansfield/Getty Images)

Proteas Women Squad

Dane Van Niekerk (c), Laura Wolvaardt, Lizelle Lee, Mignon du Preez, Marizanne Kapp, Sune Luus, Chloe Tryon, Shabnim Ismail, Ayabonga Khaka, Masabata Klaas, Tumi Sekhukhune, Trisha Chetty, Nonkululeko Mlaba, Nadine de Klerk, Nondumiso Shangase.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *