Sport News

Orlando Pirates: 2019-20 PSL Fixtures, results, trophies, squad, scores and latest news

After back-to-back second-place finishes under the guidance of Milutin Sredojević, Orlando Pirates will fancy their chances of emerging from Mamelodi Sundowns’ shadow in 2019-20.

The Buccaneers have made some impressive signings, most notably Joris Delle, Fortune Makaringe and Siphesihle Ndlovu.

Pirates have not won the Premiership trophy since completing the famous “double treble” in 2011-12. This can be considered a barren spell for a team with a long, successful history both in South Africa and elsewhere on the continent.

Widely referred to as “the Buccaneers”, Pirates have a large fan base across South Africa known as “the Ghost”.

Orlando Pirates nicknames

Buccaneers, Bucs, Ezikamagebhula, Sea Robbers.

Orlando Pirates history

Orlando Pirates FC was founded in 1937 and has since served as a beacon of unity in what has often been a deeply divided country. They made history in 1979 when their very own Peter Twigg became the first white player to play in South African “black soccer” — the NPSL, as it was those days.

The Buccaneers are, however, not only famous for their pioneering politics. They also became the first South African club to win the African Cup of Champions Clubs (CAF Champions League) in 1995. That feat has only been repeated by Mamelodi Sundowns as recently as 2016.

The class of ‘95 can be regarded as one of the most memorable Orlando Pirates teams largely because their victory came one year before Bafana Bafana won the Africa Cup of Nations on home soil. Since then, the one Buccaneers side which has truly lived up to the legacy has been the team from the early 2010s.

Having won the Premiership, MTN8 and Nedbank Cup in 2010/11, Pirates lifted the Premiership, MTN8 and Telkom Knockout the following season. They made the finals of the 2013 CAF Champions League and the 2015 CAF Confederation Cup, losing to Al Ahly and Étoile Sportive du Sahel respectively.

Altogether, the Orlando Pirates website lists the club as having won nine Premiership titles, nine MTN8 trophies and eight Nedbank Cup tournaments among several other accolades.

Orlando Pirates: Latest news and live scores

a2c756e0 pirateslatestnews - Orlando Pirates: 2019-20 PSL Fixtures, results, trophies, squad, scores and latest news

Orland Pirates: Live scores

To follow…

Orlando Pirates 2019-20 squad

To follow…

Orlando Pirates: PSL season 2019-20 fixtures and results

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *