Sport News

Mamelodi Sundowns: 2019-20 PSL Fixtures, results, trophies, squad and latest news

Mamelodi Sundowns have won the last two South African Premier Soccer League titles, but 2019-20 looks set to be an arduous campaign for Masandawana. They will be up against an improved Orlando Pirates squad and have added little to their own arsenal.

Sundowns’ only new addition to the squad for the upcoming season has been Mauricio Affonso. At least this does not appear to trouble coach Pitso Mosimane, who according to Soccer Laduma said: “The first season when I came to Sundowns I signed 11 players because I needed to change the team for the future. And we still struggled. 

“Ever since that we are the quietest team in the transfer window – I have said that this thing of buying a lot of players is not the way. You need to buy what you need.”

At least Sundowns can benefit from a recent change to the format of the CAF Champions League which should reduce fixture congestion. Having carried the flag for South Africa in continental competitions during recent years, Sundowns have had a huge burden to shoulder.

Under the guidance of Pitso Mosimane, now one of Africa’s most respected coaches, they have performed admirably.

Mamelodi Sundowns nicknames

The Brazilians, Bafana baStyle, Masandawana, Kabo Yellow, Downs, Bafana baShoeshine and Piano

Mamelodi Sundowns history

Established in the 1960s by a group of youngsters including Frank “ABC” Motsepe, Roy Fischer, Ingle Singh and Bernard Hartze, Mamelodi Sundowns became an official football club in 1970.

Masandawana participated in the original National Soccer League in 1985 following the dawn of this non-racial tournament. Despite financial troubles under the ownership of the controversial Zola Mahobe, they soon became a dominant force, winning the league in 1988 after Angelo and Natasha Tsichlas and Abe Krok took over.

The Brazilians have never looked back, winning a total of 12 top flight titles as well as the 2016 CAF Champions League. Sundowns became the only South African club to lift Africa’s top prize since Orlando Pirates in 1995.

Mamelodi Sundowns: Latest news and live scores

e698f9f0 mamelodi sundowns latest news - Mamelodi Sundowns: 2019-20 PSL Fixtures, results, trophies, squad and latest news

Mamelodi Sundowns: Live scores

To follow…

Mamelodi Sundowns 2019-20 squad

Forwards: Jeremy Brockie, Emiliano Tade, Jose Ali Meza, Gastón Sirino, Mauricio Affonso, Cuthbert Lifasi Malajila, Phakamani Mahlambi, Lebohang Maboe, Katlego Otladisa

Midfielders: Andile Jali, Leonel Justiniano, Oupa Manyisa, Hlompho Kekana, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Themba Zwane, Tiyani Mabunda, Thapelo Morena, Anthony Laffor, Lucky Mohomi, Sibusiso Kumalo, George Lebese, Lyle Lakay, Aubrey Ngoma, Keletso Makgalwa, Luis Jose Miquissone, Sphelele Mkhulise

Defenders: Anele Ngcongca, Ricardo Nascimento, Tebogo Langerman, Rivaldo Coetzee, Motjeka Madisha, Wayne Arendse, Bangaly Soumahoro, Mosa Lebusa, Tristan Moses

Goalkeepers: Kennedy Mweene, Reyaad Pieterse, Denis Onyango

Mamelodi Sundowns: PSL season 2019-20 fixtures and results

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *