Sport News

Kaizer Chiefs transfer news: More players set to leave

829d9e16 b19ebmn0222 1200x825 - Kaizer Chiefs transfer news: More players set to leave

With a little over a month before the start of the 2018/20 PSL season, Kaizer Chiefs are busy rebuilding and have given an update in terms of the players set to depart in the coming days.

As its been the case in recent years, the Glamour Boys have had a clear-out of players around the off-season, with the likes of Pule Ekstein, Bhongolwethu Jayiya and Ryan Moon all shown the exit Doon.

In the way of additions to coach Ernst Middendorp’s squad, only Zambian striker Lazarous Kambole has been confirmed to have joined the squad, which is expected to announce a few more signings in the coming days.

Two players near Kaizer Chiefs exit

Despite having endured a bit of a mass exodus, two more unnamed players have been revealed to be negotiating their exit from the Soweto giants, according to the latest statement issued out by the club.

“Amakhosi parted ways with no less than eight of its players in preparation of the upcoming 2019/20 season.

“Hendrick Ekstein, Bhongolethu Jayiya, Ryan Moon, Virgil Vries, Gustavo Páez, Khotso Malope, Emmanuel Letlotlo and Brylon Petersen have parted ways with Amakhosi for a variety of reasons.”

“Meanwhile talks are proceeding for the release of two or more players. The process of rebuilding the team ahead of the new season is underway with further announcements expected in due course. “

Kaizer Chiefs

Following the departure of Ekstein and Co, there have been a few names bandied about as possible exits.

Colombian striker Leonardo Castro has been linked with a move away from the club – a year and a half since joining from rivals Mamelodi Sundowns.

Another player linked with a departure is midfielder Siphelele Ntshangase, who fell sharply down the pecking order, following Middendorp’s arrival in December 2018.

Chiefs return to pre-season training on Wednesday, 26 June and will be without several players, including Bafana trio Daniel Cardoso, Bruce Bvuma and Ramahlwe Mphahlele, as well as Khama Billiat, Daniel Akpeyi and Teenage Akpeyi, who are representing their respective countries at Afcon in Egypt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *