Latest News

Wales Edge 14-Man France In Quarterfinal Thriller

Dan Biggar v France WC 2019 1024x576 - Wales Edge 14-Man France In Quarterfinal Thriller

Wales edged 14-man France 20-19 in a cliffhanger quarterfinal to reach the last four of the Rugby World Cup on Sunday.

France, 19-10 ahead at half-time, had Sebastien Vahaamahina sent off for an elbow on 49 minutes but they clung to the lead until Ross Moriarty powered over for the vital try late in the game.

More to follow…

Man of the match: Virimi Vakatawa was immense in the midfield. He broke through a number of tackles and score a great try as well. However, the award goes to Wales flank Aaron Wainwright for his all-round display.

Moment of the match: Sebastien Vahaamahina getting a red card in the 49th minute for his elbow shot to Aaron Wainwright’s head. France were dominant before that and they had a nine-point lead.

Villain: Sebastien Vahaamahina for his stupid shot with the elbow to Ross Moriarty’s head.

The scorers:

For Wales:
Tries: Wainwright, Moriarty
Cons: Biggar 2
Pens: Biggar 2

For France:
Tries: Vahaamahina, Ollivon, Vakatawa
Cons: Ntamack 2

Red Card: Sebastien Vahaamahina (France, 49 – foul play, elbow shot to the head)

Yellow Card: Ross Moriarty (Wales, 29 – foul play, high tackle)


Wales: 15 Liam Williams, 14 George North, 13 Owen Watkin 12 Hadleigh Parkes, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Gareth Davies, 8 Josh Navidi, 7 Justin Tipuric, 6 Aaron Wainwright, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (captain), 4 Jake Ball, 3 Tomas Francis, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Wyn Jones.
Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Rhys Carre, 18 Dillon Lewis, 19 Adam Beard, 20 Ross Moriarty, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Rhys Patchell, 23 Leigh Halfpenny.

France: 15 Maxime Medard, 14 Damian Penaud, 13 Virimi Vakatawa, 12 Gael Fickou, 11 Yoann Huget, 10 Romain Ntamack, 9 Antoine Dupont, 8 Gregory Alldritt, 7 Charles Ollivon, 6 Wenceslas Lauret, 5 Sebastien Vahaamahina, 4 Bernard Le Roux, 3 Rabah Slimani, 2 Guilhem Guirado (captain), 1 Jefferson Poirot.
Replacements: 16 Cyril Baille, 17 Camille Chat, 18 Emerick Setiano, 19 Paul Gabrillagues, 20 Louis Picamoles, 21 Baptiste Serin, 22 Camille Lopez, 23 Vincent Rattez.

Referee: Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Nic Berry (Australia), Paul Williams (New Zealand)
TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)

The post Wales Edge 14-Man France In Quarterfinal Thriller appeared first on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *