Latest News

Boks Breeze Past Namibia

SA v Namibia 1920x1080 1024x576 - Boks Breeze Past Namibia

South Africa put their campaign back on track with a 57-3 demolition of a starstruck Namibia on Saturday.

The nine-tries-to-nil victory comes after the Springboks’ loss to New Zealand in their opening match last week.

Fielding a much-changed starting XV – captained by veteran Schalk Brits from No.8 – they would have gained much confidence ahead of next week’s crunch clash with Italy.

More to follow …

The scorers

For South Africa:
Tries: Mbonambi 2, Louw, Mapimpi 2, Am, Gelant, Kolisi, Brits
Cons: E Jantjies 6

For Namibia:
Pen: Loubser

Yellow cards: Adriaan Booysen (Namibia, 16 – cynical foul, deliberately slapping the ball down), Johannes Coetzee (Namibia, 63 – foul play; shoulder charge off the ball)


Namibia: 15 Johan Tromp, 14 Chad Plato, 13 Jacobus Greyling, 12 PJ Walters, 11 Lesley Klim, 10 Cliven Loubser, 9 Eugene Jantjies, 8 Adriaan Booysen, 7 Muharua Katjijeko, 6 Thomasau Forbes, 5 Tjiuee Uanivi (captain), 4 Johan Retief, 3 AJ De Klerk, 2 Louis van der Westhuizen, 1 Desiderius Sethie.
Replacements: 16 Obert Nortjé, 17 André Rademeyer, 18 Johannes Coetzee, 19 Prince Gaoseb, 20 Janco Venter, 21 Wian Conradie, 22 Helarius Kisting, 23 Johan Deysel.

South Africa: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Sibusiso Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Schalk Brits (captain), 7 Albertus Smith, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lodewyk de Jager, 4 Rudolph Snyman, 3 Vincent Koch, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Replacements: 16 Steven Kitshoff, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Eben Etzebeth, 19 Siya Kolisi, 20 Franco Mostert, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Damian de Allende, 23 Cheslin Kolbe.

Referee: Mathieu Raynal (France)
Assistant referees: Nic Berry (Australia), Andrew Brace (Ireland)
TMO: Graham Hughes (England)

The post Boks Breeze Past Namibia appeared first on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *